Lucky Lucky Charms!!

I can’t actually put into words how excited I am right now (though this could be the E numbers!!) I went shopping with my Grandma this morning to Leeds to take some Hunter Wellies back (don’t even get me started on Offices return policy, customer service is NOT their strong point!) and we popped into Harvey Nichols for a look round. Now, I haven’t really ventured past Floor 3 there for a while (beauty – Floor 1, shoes and women’s clothes – Floor 3!) but we went up to the top floor today and had a look around at the food and, Harvey Nichols, I SALUTE YOU! They had an amazing range of American groceries, not as large as Selfridges obviously but large enough so I could get my Lucky Charm fix!! I also bought those Panda faces with chocolate in and some Pretzel Petes Honey and Mustard pretzel crisps. I’m in love. Lucky Charms are so yummy, why oh why did the UK pull them off of our shelves? Same with Poptarts, get it together Britain, Chocolate and Strawberry are not the best flavours and do not compare at all to Hot Fudge Sundae or Cookie Dough!

Who needs Rice Krispies when you have Lucky Charms?! Pffft.

So these have been my little after lunch snack! I do have the serious munchies though so may have to go raid the fridge……..

Aside from my Leeds trip I’ve been having a think about Christmas again. Mum bought the Ideal Home’s Complete Guide to Christmas again this year and it has a few pretty tempting recipes in. Has anyone ever tried Chestnut Soup?? I certainly intend to attempt to make the Mulled Syrup recipe, it says good as a ‘gift for him’ but, seriously, this is likely to become a gift for me!! Anyway, I thought I’d write it up incase anyone else wants to give it a whirl…..

Mulled Syrupwww.housetohome.co.uk/christmas

You will need:

9oz/275g golden caster sugar

2 cinnamon sticks

12 juniper berries

8 whole cloves

3/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg

2 Tablespoons Orange liqueur

1 Orange, sliced (optional, this is for decoration of the bottles)

Funnel and 2 sterilised glass bottles

  1. Put the first 6 ingredients into a large saucepan with 900ml of water. Heat the mixture gently and stir to dissolve the sugar slowly, then boil for 5 mins. Leave to cool in the pan.
  2. Set the oven for 150c/300f/gas mark 2. Line a baking pan with with greaseproof paper and lay the slices of orange on to bake for 20 mins until they are dry.
  3. Using the funnel, pour the mulling syrup into the bottles, dividing the cinnamon sticks etc between the 2.
  4. Seal and store for up to 2 months.

TO SERVE:

  • Pour 450ml of syrup and 1 bottle of red wine (or cider etc) into a large saucepan and heat gently until warm. DO NOT BOIL.

TO DECORATE BOTTLE AS A GIFT:

  • Push a skewer/kebab stick through the centre of each dried orange slice to make a hole then thread through some ribbon and attach to each bottle. Finish with a home-made label and instructions.

Sounds delicious if you ask me! If anybody tries to make it please do let me know how it turns out or as soon as I make it, I will of course blog about it (if I can focus on the keyboard haha)

This post has turned into quite a long one today! I’m now off to scour www.Pinterest.com for crockpot recipes! It’s getting colder by the day here and I need my cosy food!

This made me laugh! Gotta love Google Pics

Ciao for now

xoxo

Leave a Reply

