Chocolate Brownie and Hot Fudge Sauce (egg free)

Now I can’t quite remember where I got the original recipe from for this as it was about 10 months ago now, but in any event, I’ve tweaked it a little bit to make it that bit richer!!

You will need:

9×13 inch baking pan (or whatever you have to hand but remember the baking time may differ)

Greaseproof paper to line your baking pan

Dish

Wooden spoon

Ingredients

2 Cups Plain Flour

2 Cups Caster Sugar

3/4 Cup Cocoa

1 tsp Baking powder

1 tsp Salt

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1 Tbsp Coffee (I actually use Camp)

1 Cup Soya Milk (or your regular milk will work)

6oz Melted Butter

1/4 Cup Oil (I use whatever’s to hand, usually Vegetable, obviously not Olive!)

100g Melted Dark Chocolate

Preheat your oven to 175c/gas mark 4

  • Melt the Chocolate and let it cool whilst you’re getting on with the rest!
  • Stir together the dry ingredients. I like to use a hand whisk so that I know everything has combined well and there are no lumps.
  • Mix in the wet ingredients then gently pour in the melted chocolate.
  • Bake for 25 minutes or until the top is no longer shiny.

The great thing about this brownie and it being egg free is that, even if you pull it out of the oven early because you like an ultra moist brownie, you’re not going to poison yourself because there’s no egg!! I like mine quite moist so just keep checking really until you feel that the brownie is how you like it!

NOW, this is the ultimate hot fudge sauce recipe, you will, I can assure you, LOVE ME FOREVER for this recipe!! I made this once and it went a bit wrong, I didn’t get everything melted in properly and it went a bit lumpy so I poured it into our blender and hey presto, disaster averted, it was perfect!! So fear not if you’ve a lot of lumps, it can be a sensitive mix to make, but it can be saved with a trust blender.

Ingredients

1 1/2 Cup Caster Sugar

1/2 Cup Light Brown Sugar

3/4 Cup Cocoa Powder

1/4 Cup Plain Flour

1/2 tsp Salt

1 Can of Evaporated Milk (14oz/397g can)

2 Tbsps Melted Butter

2 tsp Vanilla Extract

  • Place the sugars, cocoa powder, flour, salt and evaporated milk into the pan and stir well until everything is combined (I use my hand held – NOT ELECTRIC – whisk sometimes to do this)
  • Turn on the hob to med/high and as the mix starts to warm up add the butter.
  • Stir continuously.
  • When the mix hits boiling point and starts to bubble, let it continue to do so for a good 5/6 minutes.
  • Be careful not to burn the mix because you will just be left with a bitter chocolate tasting sauce.
  • After 5/6 minutes of boiling, remove from the hob and add the vanilla.

I like to then pour my sauce into my trusty Wilton bottle because this way, whenever it needs warming up I can just pop it easily into the microwave!

Warmed up brownie, hot fudge sauce and cream

This is seriously one of my fave recipes! If you like your brownies cold, I can highly recommend spreading a thick layer of chocolate buttercream, homemade or shop bought, it’s your prerogative, and munching away. Bliss.

Right, I’ve made myself extremely hungry now, noodles and king prawns for tea!!

Xoxo

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. zendictive
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 15:48:55

    brownies and fudge (~_~) my favs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

