Christmas time in Frankfurt – lots of pics!!

Given that the festive season is now in full swing, I thought I’d flash back to a couple of years ago when I went with my boyfriend for a break to Frankfurt. He couldn’t decide what he wanted for Christmas so decided he’d like a break from the madness here in England. We timed it just right for the Christmas markets too, perfect!

We stayed at the Innside by Melia Frankfurt Eurotherm and without a doubt, it was the best hotel I’ve stayed in in Europe!!

Now, I’ll be honest, I struggled not knowing much German and I didn’t have a translator guide BUT I just about got by, especially when we ate at the hotel restaurant (which by the way was gorgeous!) It was the first time I’d had duck l’orange and OMG! I’m generally limited with food but back in 2009 I was really bad. Walking around at night trying to find a restaurant where someone understands you, sells regular food and isn’t packed to the point where you’re waiting 40 minutes was no easy feat and me being me, took my bat home slightly which is how we ended up at the hotel. Best decision ever.

The markets were so so festive. With our hats, gloves and scarves on, we braved the biting cold and explored for hours. Crossing the Rhine bridge was possibly the coldest thing I have ever experienced but some quality Gluhwein was waiting for us at the other end. I don’t remember much else about the day after that, I think it contained a LOT of rum as well as red wine. What happy times.

Hopefully sometime soon I’ll be able to experience something like this again, Winter in Venice (Las Vegas, Google it, you’ll fall in love) is the ultimate aim.

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

