Preparing for Pancake Day/Shrove Tuesday

Pancakes have always been a huge part of my life, for a British girl I take my pancakes seriously! Usually on Pancake Day I try to have pancakes at lunch or for dinner, Marks and Spencers do them that you can pop in the microwave and SMOTHER in Lyles Maple flavoured Syrup. Now, part of me feels that this product is the work of the devil because it’s so addictive and delicious and…..I’m drooling now, I should stop!! It got to the point though that I was having this on EVERYTHING, porridge, pancakes, honeyloaf, rice pudding. EVERYTHING.

Since I had to do the whole liquid diet thing just over a year ago though I tend to have some trouble with eggs, so where possible I do try to eat cakes etc without egg, those that are homemade anyway, I don’t see there being that many eggs in supermarket cakes given the size of the cake batter they must use in the mass production! This is a slight problem though where pancakes are concerned as you can imagine. Until now. I have just discovered this recipe by the blog Art of Dessert and it sounds pretty good. Also, it sounds like it would be pretty easy to make the dry mix in advance and just add the liquids on the morning you’re wanting to make the, how simple!

Makes 8-9 pancakes

2 Cups Plain Flour

1/4 Cup Sugar

1 1/2 Tbsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

2 Cups Milk

1/4 Cup Vegetable Oil

1/4 Cup Orange Juice

1/4 Cup Melted Butter

  • Sift together flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together milk, oil and orange juice. Slowly add in the melted butter.
  • Pour about 1/2 cup of batter onto a hot nonstick pan. (This batter is tends to bubble up and thicken due to the baking powder. You can gently stir it to break down some of the bubbles to bring it back to a pourable consistency.)
  • Cook until you see a few bubbles rise to the surface and it’s dry around the edges, then flip over to cook the other side until lightly browned.
  • Serve!!

Now, I haven’t tested these myself yet, but if you do please let me know how you get on. As soon as I make them I’ll post pictures, if they last that long! CAN.NOT.WAIT.

The amazing IHOP!

Dennys Pancakes, en route to Lake Tahoe

Butterscotch Pancakes from IHOP, Lake Tahoe! And yes, I ate the lot 🙂

I really do love pancakes.

XOXO

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. James Dunn
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 18:13:08

    only thing i can say is mmmmmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

