Best Pumpkin Muffins EVER – FACT!

I use The Post Punk Kitchen for a lot of recipe ideas because I can’t have eggs, and it’s a completely vegan website so I love looking for alternative ideas and inspiration to help me along when I get sick of the same old food. Thankfully, I also love tofu too, especially the firm stuff, oo oo and the kind thats got basil in it, so tasty!

So, this recipe is one I used last year when I was selling cupcakes at a local market, people in the UK tend to be quite wary of pumpkin, I have no idea why. I love me some pumpkin though, and today I had 4 tins of pumpkin puree tucked away at the back of the cupboard and just thought, what the hell, I’ll make the muffins again today. They are perfect for a snack, but best of all, breakfast or dessert! I’m always struggling for breakfast ideas, cereal never fills me, toast gets so boring and bloating, Ready Brek is nice and all but there’s only so many times you can eat porridge, especially on the rarer warm days and fruit and yogurt, again, get a little boring for me.

SO, here I go, handing you this very special recipe that I know you will all love as much as I do because frankly, if you like pumpkin and the warming spices that go with it, then there is no reason that you shouldn’t like this. I’ve adapted it ever so slightly just to my taste.

Makes 12

Ingredients

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground or freshly grated nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 cup pureed pumpkin NOT pumpkin pie mix
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons dark corn syrup/golden syrup
  1. Preheat oven to 180c
  2.  In a bowl place all the dry ingredients. You can either sift them together or, like I did, use a basic hand whisk and just mix them together until they look well blended.

Dry mix

3.     In a seperate bowl mix together the wet ingredients.

Wet ingredients

 

4.   Add the wet mix the dry mix then whisk until just combined.

 

Pumpkin batter

 

5.      Fill the muffin liners 2/3 full and bake for 18-20 minutes.

 

YUMO

 

Now, firstly I have to apologise for the first post that posted by complete mistake, I have no idea what WordPress it trying to do to me but it did not amuse!! Mainly because this was my tomorrows post because I’m a lazy ass haha oh well, happy days peeps.

 

XOXO

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. vodkaandmotherhood
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 17:51:51

    Yummy!! Can’t wait to try!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

